Skip to main content

A Different World: The Snopes Trilogy by William Faulkner

ID : 721   
« back to classes page
Join us in reading The Mansion; the final book of William Faulkner’s Snopes Trilogy. (To enjoy The Mansion it is not necessary to have read the first two books.) We will have mystery, brutality, and Faulkner’s dark humor as we follow the retribution of Mink Snopes which he visits upon his cousin Flem; a revenge abetted by Flem’s daughter, Linda. We will also read Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying, the story of the Bundrens and their odyssey across Mississippi to bury Addie the family’s matriarch. Tragedy, pathos, and even comedy appear in this Southern Gothic novel drawing us to the family, their quest and most of all giving us a brilliant picture of the rural South in the early twentieth century. The Mansion by William Faulkner (Vintage, Vintage International 2011, 1955) and As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner (Vintage, Vintage International 1990). No class on 11/22/18.


Class Details

13 Sessions
Weekly - Thu

500 Davis Center

MultipleInstructor :
1.Michael Singer2.John Lucadamo 



Call 847-492-8204 to register Send to Friend » Request More Info » Checkout »

Schedule Information

Skip dates: (No class on 11/22/2018, 11/22/2018)

Date(s) Class Days Times Location Instructor(s) Instructional Method
9/13/2018 - 12/13/2018 Weekly - Thu 9:45 AM - 11:45 AM Evanston, 500 Davis Center  Map John Lucadamo  ; Michael Singer  ClassRoom